PDA

View Full Version : What to do with qualifications?

Mari
03-08-2009, 01:52 PM
I have been childminding for 3 years. I began because I could not afford childcare for my daughter and to be honest I didn't really want her to be looked after by anyone else. The past three years have been both beneficial for myself and my family, financially and because I can care for them myself, but also it has been rewarding for me, I have been involved with lovely families and cared for fantastic children, I have met great people and my childminding friends will stay with me forever.
However, during my childminding I have undertaken some training and in addition to the DHC which I have now completed I have also nearly completed my NVQ level 4 in children's care development and learning. I had an idea when I started this course that I was going to open a creche. Well, two years down the line and I am not sure if I want to do that now. I don't know if I can do that financillay to start with, but also not sure if that's what I want to do either. I want to work with children, I'd ideally like to work within an early years environment, but the hours have to suit school, I'd like to continue to childmind before and after school.

So, the question is, what do I do, are there any jobs for me? Surely there is something out there for me with a level 4 qualification? What do you all think?

Pipsqueak
03-08-2009, 02:33 PM
Check with local nurseries and agencies. you might also want to check with your council and see if they have any jobs in the schools or nurseries.

good luck

The Juggler
03-08-2009, 02:43 PM
what about a TA role in school. Pay is not great but it is term-time only and short-day hours.

Or, work in a children's centre (not t-t only though)

Mari
03-08-2009, 03:10 PM
what about a TA role in school. Pay is not great but it is term-time only and short-day hours.

Or, work in a children's centre (not t-t only though)