PDA

View Full Version : help - struggling with difficult child

smiler
24-07-2009, 09:44 AM
I had such a terrible day yesterday - I look after 3 siblings, 1, 4 and 7, and whilst the youngest and eldest are lovely the 4 (nearly 5) year old is so disruptive and im dreading the rest of the holidays! He will not join in any activies, sulks, is bad tempered and rude and wont even put his own shoes on or even wipe his bottom by himself, although i know he does at school so why not here?! Yesterday was so exhausting and he will be coming for 3 whole days every week during the holidays. How do i deal with this? ive been minding for 5 years and have never experienced such a disruptive child. The obvious thing is to speak to the parents but i feel slightly intimidated by them because they are a very 'bolshy' sort of family and i know they will be defensive. please help!! x

sarah707
24-07-2009, 03:52 PM
I have moved your post to the minding chat area of the forum where more members will see it to answer! :D

Welcome to the forum!

I really think you need to speak to the child's parents. If he is being deliberately disruptive, you must tackle it head on before the situation gets worse.

Plus if he is ignoring you there's a chance he will run off when you go out or dash into a road and that's a risk not worth taking.

I imagine like many children in the holidays, he is resentful that he has to be 'minded' while his friends at home play out etc. It can be tough, but he has to learn before he does something dangerous.

I hope you manage to sort it out quickly.

mushpea
24-07-2009, 04:32 PM