PDA

View Full Version : How much to charge?

fun house
15-06-2009, 10:24 AM
Hi this is my first time on leaving a message, i have been childminding for the last 3 years for the same family mum told me a couple of weeks ago she is giving up her job. I am know looking for some more minding children.

I have had a call about looking after a child one day a week on a monday but they only want that day 6 in 10 weeks because of the jobs they both do. The longest time will be 8am to 6pm and the other times are 8am to 2pm and 1pm to 6pm. I have also been asked to the 6 in 10 tuesdays but only 3.30 to 5.30 as mum teaches swimming.

I am thinking on the monday i should charge the full day rate even if she is only here half a day, here the whole day or not here at all. As she is taking up a space on that day. Do you think this sounds fair? What should i do for the tuesday?

Thanks

Alibali
15-06-2009, 01:12 PM
I would charge full fee for every monday as you need to keep that space for her and couldn't possibly fill it with someone else, and I would charge my after school session rate for every tuesday too.

Blackhorse
15-06-2009, 01:19 PM
I agree with Alibali
that sounds like a good way of charging!

Chimps Childminding
15-06-2009, 05:28 PM
I agree with charging for every monday as you can't fill the weeks she doesn't need you.

Am I right in assuming that on a Tuesday it is the same child (who i guess is under 5 if you are having him/her 8 - 5 on Monday?) if so they would be taking up one of your under 5's spaces for 2 hours a day! so charging after school fees would leave you out of pocket, because again, you couldn't fill the day. I would charge the parent for half a day, because she will be taking up an under 5's space just for the couple of hours 6 weeks out of 10! iyswim :D

zippy
15-06-2009, 05:48 PM
Hiya