PDA

View Full Version : Not sure whether to charge??

Polly2
11-06-2009, 07:55 AM
Morning all
I have been minding for a family for 3 years. Used to have both boys but now one is in school. I have been doing after school care for him occasionally but only charging for when he is here, as a favour.

I was ok with this because I was already minding brother, and also she gives my girls b/sitting work in hols and some weekends. One time one of her horses was about to give birth so she let my daughter stay the night to watch!

So nice parents - I am happy to help them out.

Now the school age son has moved schools to where my son goes. My son catches minibus by my front gate. Mum has managed to get her lo on the bus but they will only pick up from my house because she is out of catchment.

This would mean she drops him off at 8 every day and he gets on bus at 8.15. Would you charge for this?? If so how much?

It is no bother for me as my son is getting on anyway and I am tempted to not charge but does that make me look unprofessional and will she then take advantage?

Sorry for long post but wanted you to know history - what do you think??

Roseolivia
11-06-2009, 08:11 AM
Think it's up to you. You'd have to think if you need to do a contract as he'll be with you 15 mins every morning. There'll probably be someone along soon who can help.

katickles
11-06-2009, 08:16 AM
I was going to say about contracts & attendance registers - I guess charing is upto you really. I understand why you are thinking not to as personally I think i'd be the same.

Mouse
11-06-2009, 08:27 AM
I think I would start off by charging a fee, just until you know that it all runs smoothly with him being dropped off & catching the bus. Even £5 a week would be enough to give you a working relationship.

After say, the first term, you decide that it's all going to work well you could say to the mum that you feel you don't need to charge her, so you won't be doing from then on.