PDA

View Full Version : i need to get out of teaher mode so how do i plan as a childminder?

missv1981
07-06-2009, 07:08 PM
Hi,

this has probably been asked on here so sorry for repeating!

I'm newly qualified as a childminder and have a few questions about the planning and observations.

I'm 100% used to all the paperwork as I'm a teacher but I know that ofsted will not be grading me as a teacher but as a childmionder. I'm only working with over 5s and they are afterschool mindees for 2 days a week. I know that I shouldn't be teaching them like i would at school as they have had that all day. So my questions are:

If you have children over 5 after school how do you plan for them (do you do homework with them? Do you link activities to school work? Do you consider the literacy and numeracy strategies?

If you only have them for a few hours do you give them free time or have the whole time working with them?

also how do you record observations?

Sorry to sound silly but i need to get out of teacher mode :blush:

xx

missv1981
07-06-2009, 07:17 PM
'teacher' i can spell the word but was in a rush for advice!:blush:

Hi,

this has probably been asked on here so sorry for repeating!

I'm newly qualified as a childminder and have a few questions about the planning and observations.

I'm 100% used to all the paperwork as I'm a teacher but I know that ofsted will not be grading me as a teacher but as a childmionder. I'm only working with over 5s and they are afterschool mindees for 2 days a week. I know that I shouldn't be teaching them like i would at school as they have had that all day. So my questions are:

If you have children over 5 after school how do you plan for them (do you do homework with them? Do you link activities to school work? Do you consider the literacy and numeracy strategies?

If you only have them for a few hours do you give them free time or have the whole time working with them?

also how do you record observations?