PDA

View Full Version : Cars and Holidays?

dmss001
07-06-2009, 02:24 PM
Hi, I am a newbie and will be starting in Jan as currently still enjoying my maternity leave....

Anyway my question is do you all have 7 seater cars?? I currently have an ordinary ford estate so can take 3 children in car seats then no more room for anyone else so I take it I cannot do school pick ups! I was then thinking I could still cover school holidays and inset days as they would then be dropped off to me. If I was to get a car so I could collect children from school could you please let me know how much these 7 seater cars cost second hand and if the insurance is o.k?

Daftbat
07-06-2009, 02:36 PM
I don't know the costs second hand but i use a 7 seater and wouldn't be without it especially in the holidays.

Insurance wise ours is £224 fully comp for this year but i am an old fogey of nearly 43:eek: and hubby is 41. I think the insurance group for the zafira (thats what i have) is reasonable.

dmss001
07-06-2009, 03:41 PM
Thanks I am just trying to weigh up the costs of buying a new car vs. taking on some children before/after school. Im not sure of the costs in the area for taking on the children before and after school. Everyone charges £4 min £5 max per hour but never state before and after school fees.

Chatterbox Childcare
07-06-2009, 03:43 PM
You need to see if there is the demand for the holidays before commiting yourself. Ring your insurance company and ask for a quote as everyone is different - don't forget to tell them you want class 1 business use

rickysmiths
07-06-2009, 11:07 PM
I don't have and never had had a seven seater! I have always done school runs walking and outtings on Public Transport when I had older ones in the holidays. We have never needed a 7 seater as a family and I don't see the need to have to drive one around when I'm not minding.