PDA

View Full Version : first aid - online shopping?

Blackhorse
27-04-2009, 08:34 PM
I went to the pharmacy with my list of things for the first aid kit.
(we got a list in the induction training so I thought I will go and buy the stuff individually and make up my own box)
turned out though that the pharmacist didn't have a clue about half the things on the list...and I am not an expert either and my first aid course doesn't start till june...

does anyone know of a good page on the internet where I can order first aid supplies?

Cammie Doodle
27-04-2009, 08:46 PM
Lists vary from course to course, our latest Tutor has given us the advise that ALL we need is enough to cover minor injuries !! :rolleyes: Its a bit like how long is a peice of string ? Ofsted says all we are required to do is FIRST AID and how much equipment does that need? Not a lot

Blackhorse
27-04-2009, 08:50 PM
my list is quite good. just the basics...just not sure where to get them...
at the pharmacy they were no help...
instead of sterile adhesive dressings she just wanted to give me some plasters... which we were told not to use ...

TheBTeam
27-04-2009, 08:52 PM
Our course told us we could use plasters, because they are self adhesive dressings!

Pauline
27-04-2009, 08:57 PM
Our course told us we could use plasters, because they are self adhesive dressings!

you are allowed hypo-allergenic plasters, with parents written permission to use them. :)

Blackhorse
27-04-2009, 08:58 PM
what is the difference between an adhesive dressing and a plaster?
at our training we were told to never use plasters even if with permission as the child could be fine with plasters one day but then have a reaction the next...we all disagreed with this, but this is what we were told anyways

Pauline
27-04-2009, 08:59 PM
I went to the pharmacy with my list of things for the first aid kit.
(we got a list in the induction training so I thought I will go and buy the stuff individually and make up my own box)