PDA

View Full Version : Fire resistant doors and walls!?!

jackiepaper
01-04-2009, 09:44 PM
:) Hi there all! I'm a real newbie just about to start up the registration process, but I am in a state of collapse after reading the Fire Precaution in Domestic Childminding Premesis booklet re. fire resistant construction of doors (self closing) and walls... it makes sense of course, but blimey - we'll need to re-mortgage to achieve that lot.
Our house is 150 years old, with 1960's hollow doors plus the kitchen and bathroom doors have a glass pane in them, the internal partition walls are mostly plasterboard, but some are hardboard. I wanted to change the doors eventually - but put new walls up....:panic: And all this work needs to be done by a competent person who can give us a certificate, so no DIY either to cut costs either :panic: ... Are we doomed before we even start :( ?

Any advice/input would be greatly appreaciated :o

Thanks in advance

:) jackie xxxx

sarah707
02-04-2009, 07:35 AM
If you are concerned, you need to ring the Fire Brigade for a free home safety assessment.

They will come out and talk you through what they think you need to do.

Don't panic until you've done that!! :D

Pedagog
02-04-2009, 07:45 AM
Stop panicking, as Sarah says phone local fire station and ask for a free fire home assessment (don't mention you are a childminder when booking).

rickysmiths
02-04-2009, 08:09 AM
I had the Firemen come out. The children thought it was great fun, their very own fire engine on the drive! They let the children on the fire engine and pulled the hoses off it was great! One of the Firemen was even a Registered Childminder!!!!:clapping:

They fitted new 10year battery Smoke alarms FREE, nothing wrong with the ones I had but they thought I would like the ones with the 10year batteries.

They looked at my evacuation plan and advised me what to do if the children were in the house and there was a problem.