PDA

View Full Version : Help for my foundation degree please

dolphinannie
01-04-2009, 09:38 PM
Hi ladies and gents

I am currently in my second year of my foundation degree in early years and one of my assignments is about kep persons in different settings. I work in a school and have spoken to a day nursery but do no know any childminders so though i would try my luck here. :)

If you could possible spare 5 mins or so answering a few questions and giving as much detail as possible it would be a huge help.

If you have a new spin on the questions i have asked then please offer them up as i am always looking for new ideas.
Thanks for your time in advance and its greatly appreciated.

1 . What do you understand the key person (KP) system to be?

2. Do you have a KP system in place in your setting?

3. Does the child have a settling in period before starting in your setting?

4. Do parents have the oppertunity to share information with the KP about thier child before the child starts?

5. how does the KP monitor and record a child's progress? Does this information help with planning?

6. If you are a solitary child minder, do you have support in place to discuss difficult issues and feelings?

7. How do you deal with illnesses/holidays in yourself and other staff you may have? What happens to the children in these circumstances? How do children react to time away form their KP, have they had the oppertunity to form bonds with others who may care for them in illnesses and holidays?

Thank you sooo much, i know its a lot of questions really.
Annie x x

sarah707
02-04-2009, 07:35 AM
I'll have a look when I am finished tonight.. not ignoring you, just busy today! :D

Roseolivia
02-04-2009, 08:27 AM
1. I understand the key person to be the one who has certain children and it's that person's responsibility to do all the planning, obs etc for those children.
2. As i work on my own i am my mindees key person.