PDA

View Full Version : Planning permission

HanMcCreadie
30-03-2009, 01:03 PM
I need some advice please ladies. Its my first time on this forum so I hope you don't mind me joining you but I'm at a loss of what to do and need fellow CM advice.
I live next door to some awful people who do not work because apparantly they are too ill to. They are at home all day long and hate noise!
So consequently, they do not like my job!

They have reported me to the council about the noise and the planning department have now decided I need to apply for planning permission for the material change of use to my home. They want to class me as a business and not a residential.
Has anyone been through this or know of anyone?
The NCMA solicitor has said I have to apply as I childmind up to 12 children before and after school (well 2 of them are my own!)
HELP!!!!

(just to make clear, if they grant me permission, the could enforce restrictions such as shorted working hours and/or less children)

melanieabigail2004
30-03-2009, 01:35 PM
I was told by the council that if I care for more than 5 children then I would have to apply for planning - if they class you as a business does this mean you will have to pay business rates aswell?

Mel

Cammie Doodle
30-03-2009, 03:22 PM
Hi I had some sneaky annonamous (sp) neighbour a few years back report me . I was totally unaware of this when planning officer came, he asked to come in and started asking lots of Q's . About half way through he said you are answering these all really well at which point I must of looked puzzled, he said you do realise Im here on a complaint that you are running a Private Nursery :eek: . He was so apologetic that I did not know what he was there for, but told me not to worry as I was not doing anything wrong as when he asked what room is this ????? I had answered my dining room ! (well it is at evenings/ weekends) playroom in the day He then asked where my cots were and I answered my COT (singular)is upstairs.