PDA

View Full Version : In shock! Satisfactory to Outstanding!

strappyeyes
16-03-2009, 07:47 PM
Hi Everyone,
Just wanted to share my OFSTED inspection with you from last Thurs (taken me this long to digest it!) I've been childminding for 12 years, and have been inspected by OFSTED right at the beginning of each new cycle since. At my last inspection there were no fab resources such as this website, and I had a terrifying inspector hunched over a laptop, not making eye contact - completely froze and forget to tell her anything. Got a satisfactory. This time, confidence knocked -(and they were abit behind) I went into overdrive, because I really thought that I would be marked inadequate somewhere (abit paranoid maybe!) Got very scared that I wasn't up to it or doing enough. Spent hours on my SEF making sure I told them everything I do (because it would not have come out of my mouth!), triple checked policies and procedures - (Pay extra attention to medicines), wrote a million (basic) risk assessments - THANKS FOR ALL THE ADVICE ON HERE!, and hoped for the best with EYFS, because I thought what I had was well shonky.
Anyway, had a strange combination of the most perfect children in the world (and an untested combination at that!), a fabulous inspector, nothing going wrong on the day and my EYFS stuff, whilst not pretty, did the job. I've got an outstanding :clapping: in all areas!!
Need to see the report to believe it!!
So, to all of you out there who might be interested- Do a very detailed SEF, make sure you can back up what you've said if needs be, write even very simple risk assessments for everything and most importantly, don't get too hung up on the what if's - just make sure you that you tell them your intentions for the future. They want to see (at the moment )that you acknowledge your weaknesses and that you can tell them what you are going to do about it!

Kes
16-03-2009, 10:43 PM
Well done :clapping:

Angela234
16-03-2009, 10:49 PM