PDA

View Full Version : chickens!!!

Dragonfly
16-03-2009, 06:33 PM
Does anyone keep chickens? I am having a coop built at the moment! need some advice as Im a novice, any will do:)

breezy
16-03-2009, 06:41 PM
NO! not keen on chickens ( unless roast):eek: sorry!

Allie
16-03-2009, 06:46 PM
I want to get some chickens as we always had them when I was little, the main problem used to be foxes trying to get them! they are great fun and some get quite friendly. I used to carry them around! don't think I would do that now but they do need attention twice a day for water and food

Allie

emmadines
16-03-2009, 06:47 PM
i have 10 plus 4 ducks, what do you want to know

Helen Dempster
16-03-2009, 07:40 PM
NO! not keen on chickens ( unless roast):eek: sorry!

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

jibberjitz
16-03-2009, 07:44 PM
We have kept chickens in the past (just got geese at mo) :D

tara
16-03-2009, 09:07 PM
I have chickens as well 8 including to ex battery ones.Plus 3 indian runner ducks and 3 call ducks.Would not be with out them:jump for joy: there is a site you can join

http://www.omlet.co.uk/homepage/homepage.php

enjoy !:clapping:or just get info from

Ripeberry
16-03-2009, 09:43 PM
I've got chickens. One Maran hen, one silkie cross/Maran (i don't know how they did it either) and two Auracanas that i'm trying to sell as they won't go in the main run as they just climb the fence! :eek:
Some joker from Trade-it left an SMS message on my landline asking if i was still selling the chickens as he was HUNGRY!
Ha! ha! NOT! :mad:

Pedagog
16-03-2009, 11:27 PM
WE have chickens and ducks and have had geese and quail in the past as well, must get the incubator out soon

Dragonfly
17-03-2009, 08:46 AM
Thank you all. Emmerdine, just a bit worried about attracting vermin what can I do to prevent it? worming, mites which are good layers. looked up rhode island reds they say there good layers.Finding good sellers.What i shouldnt do etc, etc, etc!:

gegele
17-03-2009, 08:57 AM