PDA

View Full Version : No wonder so many of us give up!

Lady Haha
07-03-2009, 09:38 PM
I am in two minds about whether I am glad I found this forum or not! Obviously, I am really, but it's made me realise just how behind and out of touch I really am with the paperwork and legal side of it all. I have spent the whole of last week finding policies to print, making risk assessments, updating consent forms and I havent even scraped the surface.

Been reading up about EYFS alot and all the planning and stuff round each child and it just seems like soooo much work.

I have been plodding along for the past two years, every one happy as larry, me, because I love my job, the kids because they love coming here and the parents, because they know their kids are happy here. Since I started two years ago I have steadily become fuller and fuller, and not one of my mindees has left, so I must be doing something right. I get them here safely from school, I provide a vast array of different resources and toys, I feed them food they like(!), I help them with homework, I sit at the table making things with them, I take them out on day trips in school hols, and in between all that, I am generally just messing about with them like a big kid myself!

So, my point is, if it aint broke, why fix it?????

:(

Chatterbox Childcare
07-03-2009, 09:45 PM
I believe in what we are doing but I also believe that the EYFS is making us more professional and therefore accountable.

Once you have your paperwork in place you don't have to do it again, just evaluate and tweak as you go along.

As to the planning - you are already doing this and just need to put it on paper. It doesn't take long once set up and I believe that my children are benefiting from it as I am more organised.

Keep going - it will be worth it

Pipsqueak
07-03-2009, 09:52 PM