PDA

View Full Version : Male childminders

bbmack
17-02-2009, 05:05 PM
Afternoon

I am going to try and become a childminder by September, and have my name down for a few courses in the coming months.
I'm a male and was wondering whether my experience will be very different to females who have followed this career path?
I expect parents attitudes to be a little different. I'm a qualified primary school teacher and have taught at nursery and reception on supply and parents are often startled when picking their kids up from a man.
I half expect other men to guffaw behind their hands but that doesn't bother me one bit, I'm very secure in my self as a person and will be proud to follow a career path that will help me spend far more time with my new baby daughter.

Anyway I'd love to email any other male childminders just to pick their brains e.t.c. Any tips would be great too. :thumbsup:

Jules27
17-02-2009, 06:06 PM
Just wanted to wish you luck! Childminding does seem to be dominated by ladies, personally would have no problem leaving my child with a male minder

crazybones
17-02-2009, 06:09 PM
There are a few male childminders on here and I say go for it. A lot of children dont have a positive male role model so I think its a great thing. Also the best teachers my children have had have been male...dont know if that is a coincidence or not. Best of luck with it and welcome to the forum.

tulip0803
17-02-2009, 06:11 PM
Hello & welcome:)

There are a few minders on here that are male. And we have had a few join over the last few weeks so I am sure one of them will find this soon. Some work with wives others alone.

I think many parents would sometimes like male childcarers but they are difficult to come by.

Good luck

Trouble
17-02-2009, 06:13 PM
we had a male childminder up here and he was always full

i would send my son to him he was great:clapping: :clapping: :clapping:

MissTinkerbell
17-02-2009, 06:13 PM