PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to become a childminder, Advice needed please

Hayleyw
30-01-2008, 09:56 PM
Hi, My name is Hayley.

I just Registered today hoping that you guys would be able to give me some information.

I am at present pregnant with twins due in May, Before I was pregnant i was an Auxillary Nurse, and completed my NVQ Level 3 in Health & Social Care.
When the twins are around 9 months old i would like to become a registered childminder, I have been on the NCMA website but there is one thing that i cant find information on, Me and my partner are moving to a 2 bed House, 1 bedroom being ours and 1 the twins, do you need a spare room to be a child minder??

Also If i already have the twins how many children will i be able to take? Sorry to ask so many questions. but i thought it best to ask the people who actually have experience.

I do have lots of experience with children as i come from a big familey, 15 nieces and nephews and 10 great nieces and nephews, as i was the youngest sister of 5 i was always the babysitter lol.:laughing:

Many Thanks

katickles
30-01-2008, 09:59 PM
You register the rooms that you want to in your home. My downstairs is the only areas registered. Living room, dining room (quiet area/sleep area), kitchen, conservatory, hall, porch, downstairs toilet & garden.

No need for mine to use upstairs:jump for joy:

Also there is a thread tonight about numbers

x

Hayleyw
30-01-2008, 10:01 PM
Thankyou, so what does it mean by sleep areas?

katickles
30-01-2008, 10:05 PM
Just an area that small children / babies can have naps. I have a travel cot for the babies & then its down to parents routines & requirements as to the older ones napping.

Ofsted are keen on having an area in which you can allow them to have naps if required.

:p

Hayleyw
30-01-2008, 10:08 PM