PDA

View Full Version : Please help

isla
29-01-2008, 07:08 PM
Hi my name is Isla Turnbull, I am a product design student at Robert Gordons, Aberdeen. For my current project I am working with 2 others to redesign the buggy. Our profile is a childminder looking after 2 children one aged 2 and the other 5, who uses public transport. The Childminder has the children roughly 6hrs a day 4 days a week and takes them out once a day.

What we are looking for is any feedback regarding buggies and dealing with more than 1 child when out and about. For example which current features of a buggy do you find benifitial, which cause problems, what would you like to see in a buggy ?

We have already found the issue of collapsability an issue, especiallyfor getting on buses if there is already one on board, with some tests of existing products. For example most require 2 hands and quite a bit of effort if you have anything else in your hands. Any views on this particular issue ?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated, thanks :)

Isla x

sarah707
29-01-2008, 07:12 PM
Hello Isla - what an interesting project! And how clever of you to find us here - we have a lot of buggy experience :laughing:

A practical in-built buggy board that clips in place when not in use, but is easy to drop down for when the 5 year old is tired... easy to collapse (the easiest I know is my maclaren)... light enough to be carried with one hand - if there was a strap it would have to tuck away (or be clipped somewhere) for health and safety (strangulation) reasons... rain cover that does not tear because it is permanently being bent and folded down... non-permanent hood for same reason...

Hmmm I'll have a think! :D

carolinel
29-01-2008, 07:20 PM
large basket underneath is a must.

perhaps a d shaped handle on the side that the elder child has to hold when walking, that could also double up as a carry handle when pushchair folded.

def agree with Sarah re the raincover!!

Spangles
29-01-2008, 08:00 PM