PDA

View Full Version : After school advice?

Stix
20-01-2009, 08:46 PM
Hi everyone,

I've got someone coming for a chat tomorrow about me having their 9 year old daughter after school 3 days a week. I have decided to write up a new prospectus for after school care as a lot of the information in my present prospectus is entirely irrelevant.

I'm new to minding and have realised that up to this point I have been very naive and I'm planning a revamp of my ideas. So, what is the general score for after school mindees?

My original plan was just to charge per hour (my fees are £2.50/h). However, this mindee would be 4pm-6pm so she would need collecting at 4pm from a school 2 miles away. So with my own children (4 and 2) and a 10 month old mindee, this would mean using the car. There is a shortcut across a field at the top of the next road to mine but I'm not happy about dragging 3 small children and myself over a field in the dark.

Also, as she will be here over tea time, I'll need to feed her too. I don't charge for my 10 month old's tea as obviously it's a negligible portion really and no bother.

So, I suppose my question is what do you do in this situation? do you charge a session fee which includes the extra fuel and meal or would you charge per hour, which in my case, I can see myself losing out.

My brain is now frazzled!! Thanks in advance for any help! x

crazybones
20-01-2009, 08:53 PM
I charge a minimum of 3 hours per day and extra for tea because we dont eat until 6 as a family so it's to put people off :blush: I would work out the charge for meal, petrol and hourly rate and then round it up. From experience rounding everyone up for a school pick-up for just one child needs to be worth my while.

flora
20-01-2009, 08:56 PM
I charge from 3 ~6pm as a minimum session and you can use all or some of it. I charge extra for tea and charge petrol by the mile.

I only do after schoolers as the mo and this works fine :thumbsup:

Hope that helps :thumbsup:

Andrea08