PDA

View Full Version : i have a question about icp exam

johnnydepp1
19-01-2009, 11:05 AM
hello

i have my icp exam next week and i am really nervous, i just dont do well in exams, and i have been told that if you fail the exam twice that you cant be a childminder, is this true, has anyone here failed and still become a childminder, i really want this job, i have been working on my porfolio for 2 years, i have done my first aid, but i dont know if i will pass this exam

has anyone here still become a childminder even if they have failed the exam:(

aly
19-01-2009, 11:24 AM
Hiya

I think it depends on where you are etc. It has been asked on this forum and all or most of hte replies were different. somesay they only had 1 chance. others werea few.

did you ask the tutor on the icp course? i think we were giving 2 chances.

good luck:thumbsup:

singlewiththree
19-01-2009, 12:07 PM
We were told that you just carried on until you passed. To be honest I was really worried about it as well but a lot was common sense and I passed it. In our training they had only ever had 2 people who were referred to do it again, she said you cant fail it only get asked to retake it :rolleyes:

I'm sure if you are so committed you will pass. I had sick children when I took the exam and had to leave them with my children phobic BF while I took it. We were allowed to leave after 20 mins I rushed through it and finished and left so wasnt hopeful. You would really have to have been really ill and missed loads of sessions to fail it. Even if nerves get to you there is loads of time to sit through it.

good luck

misst104
19-01-2009, 12:11 PM
Hi there,

I havn't done the exam yet (have got DHC over the next 2 saturdays) so can't give any advice really but wanted to say good luck with it. Friends who have taken it have advised me to read through the answers more than once as the first instinct may not be right. God that makes it sound worse ( they have all said its common though ).