PDA

View Full Version : What font should i use ??

loobyloo168
16-01-2009, 12:57 PM
Hello all,

Im printing some handwriting practice sheets for my after schooler and was just wondering if any of you have any sugestions for what font i should use ? I was going to use comic sans but the some of the letters (like t) are not like how they do them in school ? Any other suggestions ??

misst104
16-01-2009, 01:07 PM
Could you maybe ask at school if they would mind giving you an example card of how they write their letters. Having worked in schools for many years teaching pre-reading and writing skills I know that its really hard to 'unteach' any incorrect letter formations once it is in a childs head that thats how they do it - IYSWIM. Good for you for wanting to get it right :thumbsup:

Jo x x x

loobyloo168
16-01-2009, 01:12 PM
Yeah thats what i was thinking, I was a nursery nursery nurse 10 yrs ago atin schools and know how hard it is to get them out of habits they've learnt else where. And i dont want to handwrite them myself. I know they use jolly phonics at school. But i do want to get it right for her. Shes only just starting to write so want to support her as much as possible.

sarah707
16-01-2009, 02:27 PM
There are a few schoolbook fonts, notably Sassoon Primary, but even that doesn't look enough like the way our local school writes to use it with the children.

If you are looking for something to use straight away make sure it is sans serif (without the little bits on the ends of the letters, like this one but not like this) and check the numbers as well - 1 and 4 are especially tricky and shouldn't look like these!

Actually I would just ask school! :laughing:

madasahatter
16-01-2009, 02:51 PM
I downloaded some fonts from here
http://www.underfives.co.uk/download.html