PDA

View Full Version : Just starting...

Buzz Lightyear
21-01-2008, 12:04 PM
Hi,

I'm a newbie and am just finding my feet with all this so please bear with me. Not even sure I'm in the right section for posting - sorry!!

So a bit about me. I'm pregnant and our baby is due in May. I'm really excited about having a baby, first one and already feel so much love for Bumble and he / she's not even here yet.

I work full time and I'm planning on working right up to a Friday when Bumble's due date is the Monday. I know it's a long time but it then gives me longer with Bumble after he / she is born and means I wont come back to work until the third week in May 2009!!

The thing is, the thought of having to return back to work is really worrying me and it's all I ever think about. We'd have to send Bumble to either a nursery or a childminder for 2 days or so as MIL has offered to have it one day and I'm going to request part-time hours with work which hopefully will give me 2 days off. I know going to nursery or a childminder for 2 days isn't too bad but the whole thought is just horrible.

My mother sent me to a childminder as a kid and I hated it and vowed never to do that to my own children.

Sooooo.... I've been looking into becoming a childminder! I've read a lot about it and received information from my council and have enrolled on an introductory course which takes me to the next stage. It all seems to be my best option in terms of looking after my own baby and still earn good money by looking after other children also.

I'd love to hear from anyone who's currently going through the process or has just finished and see how easy / hard you found starting up. It's something I'm really interested in doing as the thought of someone else looking after my baby is killing me and Bumble's not even here yet!!

Thanks if you've got this far!!

Elliebee

SARAHW26
21-01-2008, 12:11 PM
Hi elliebee