PDA

View Full Version : What would you do?

mum2two
20-01-2008, 09:09 PM
In Septemeber, I had been minding for 8 months, & only filled 1 pt space. I got a few enquireries, and filled up after school.

One parent of a 6 yr old came to see me. Child A. She wanted him to do Tues & Thurs for 2 hours after school. Term time only & give him tea. When she came she asked if I would be able to provide a space for her other son B, from this Sept. I said I wasn't sure, and would speak to support cm & see what she suggests. Really, I didn't want to keep an after school space open for a year.

Anyway, nothing more was really said on the matter. A couple of times I've said about B coming to me instead of going to nursery, that way I can guarentee him a space from Sept. Anyway, since begininng of Jan he now comes to me on a Mon. I pick him up from playschool, & have him til 3pm.

From the end of Feb I've taken on a full timer, and a sibling. (an afterschooler - but both full time during hols so much more money.) The only thing is, this now means there are no spaces for B to come to me from Sept. Also the mum has changed her days to Teus & Weds, and Weds I'm way more full, so will need to give her notice for A from Sept too.

Anyway, I sent her a text saying dd was ill, and she's replied B isn't great either so she'll keep him home, but needed to speak to me. She'd sent me a e-mail last week, detailing the times she wants me to have B from Sept, due to the staggered start. I said I'm not sure what I'll be able to do as I've just taken on another child from feb, so will look at it. In her text to me tonight she said she's concerned as she thought we had an understanding, so was hoping it was just the days in Sept I couldn't help out with...

I never agreed to keep a space open for her. No contract has been signed. I have one for B at the moment, but it's for Mon pm only.