PDA

View Full Version : How to achieve "Outstanding" - Ofsted

Emma
16-01-2008, 12:59 PM
I have recently just started as a childminder, and am needing any help or guidance from those of you out there who have received outstanding from Ofsted.
I would like to know the kind of things I need to have in place, visually displayed, policies and procedures that you would suggest and basically any guidance you could give a total novice that would like to progress....

Any suggestions are greatly received.
Thanks
Emma:)

angeldelight
16-01-2008, 01:02 PM
Sorry Emma but I do think this is something you need to work at yourself

How you are in your setting etc

If it was that easy for someone to just give advice on how to become " outstanding" then we would all be doing it

There are no easy answers

Look around the forum though I am sure you will find heaps of tips / advice / good information for building up your own business and working hard in all areas yourself

Angel xx

angeldelight
16-01-2008, 01:03 PM
Emma do not forget to come and say " hello" in the hello section of the forum and introuduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself

Angel xx

Twinkles
16-01-2008, 01:07 PM
mmm... I did get an outstanding. All I can say is that they love paperwork! the more policies/risk assesments etc the better . Oh! and it helps to have only 1 or 2 really well behaved children with you at the time of the inspection.
Other than that who can tell it's so unfair at the moment , one inspector will pick up on things that another won't it all depends on who you get on the day.
Well I haven't been much help have I ? Keep coming on this website it's really helpful and you will pick up loads of tips.

Twinkles
16-01-2008, 01:09 PM
Hey Angel you type much faster than me !

deb24
16-01-2008, 03:10 PM
Hi
Just make sure you know all your standards they are very hot on that.
Also good to show you have a good range of books and toys.
Good Luck Let me know how you get on

zillervalley