PDA

View Full Version : double buggy advice??

kindredspirits
31-08-2008, 08:27 PM
As of November I need a double buggy - I don't want to spend a fortune and will be looking 2nd hand but i have never used a double before and could do with some inside advice.
whats better - side by side or tandam? I will have an 18 m/o and 1 year old so i guess it'll be pretty heavy. :eek: would also want to be able to attach a buggy board in the future in case of other young mindees. i've got a big estate so folding size isn't an essential factor. My biggest concern is i've got a dodgy shoulder so it needs to be fairly easy to turn/push.

any advice?

anna x

jellytot
31-08-2008, 08:32 PM
my double buggy is the type where 1 child is in front of the other and i now wish i had got a tamdam one. i find it really heavy up and down kurbs also if child in back is getting a bit taller the hood is not as roomy for them. this could just be the one i got ( from asda ) but if i was to get another one i would go for a side by side.

Bushpig
31-08-2008, 08:34 PM
I have a side by side and have no probs, I find it easy to get around with, same as my single one, albeit it a tad heavier ;)

I had tennis elbow last year :( and was off work for 3 months, it still flairs up now and again, so I need to watch it.. so buggy choice was important for me. Mine was one off ebay. A cosykid. Cheap and cheerful.

Angela234
31-08-2008, 08:41 PM
Hi i'm just about to buy a maclaren triumph because i have lots of steps to go up and down its light and nothing to get in the way and catch on the steps.

Important things i look for;
light weight,
I would prefer a long bar handle then i could steer with 1 hand incase i need to hold child's hand.
I would only look at side by side i think its better for child to see what's going on.

Angela

jmoff
31-08-2008, 08:45 PM
I have a Jane Powertwin. I love it! It is so light to push- can manage with one hand! You can attach a buggy board too.