PDA

View Full Version : Planning and Observations?

littlesprogs
29-08-2008, 02:14 PM
Ok this might sound like a really stupid question but i've never done planning or obs before.

When doing planning do you basically just write down what activities you plan to do and what parts of the eyfs it links to? and then how you adapt the activity for different ages?

Then do an observation on the activity and write down what stages they are at and link it to eyfs?

How often do you do a planned activity? once a day? week? month?

jaytravis
29-08-2008, 02:35 PM
glad you asked that caus i was thinking the same lol lets hope someone replys soon lol

littlesprogs
29-08-2008, 02:39 PM
good i'm glad i'm not the only one :blush:

sarah707
29-08-2008, 02:45 PM
Ok this might sound like a really stupid question but i've never done planning or obs before.

No question is stupid

When doing planning do you basically just write down what activities you plan to do and what parts of the eyfs it links to?

Yes...!!

and then how you adapt the activity for different ages?

You don't really need to adapt the activity because you'll be working with the child. All you need to think is... ok today we will paint, now J age 2 can use the big brushes cos he really enjoyed painting the wall last week and wanted to do it again and K age 4 might like to look at some jackson Pollock for inspiration...

Then do an observation on the activity and write down what stages they are at and link it to eyfs?

Not every activity every day!! Most times you'll just be pottering on doing stuff... then something will happen and make you go wow and reach for your notebook.

How often do you do a planned activity? once a day? week? month?

I try to include 2 lots of multicultural planning a month... so December we might do something on Hannukah or Babushka and Christmas... January it'll be fun to do Australia Day etc...