PDA

View Full Version : Bad reference from employer to ofsted before pre registration visit

Ruch1987
28-06-2019, 11:01 PM
Hi all, I am very new to this childminding forum, it's my first ever post. I have been reading a lot on this forum and it has since been very helpful. I am in the process of becoming a Childminder. I left my job from a nursery in end of Feb. I did my course, introductory course and first aid as well. 2 of my friends who became my references sent the form to Ofsted already and I know they are good.

But I gave reference of my job employer that I left end of feb. My employer called me up saying I have a bad reviews in the file, i was not very good at my work, some positives and a lot of negatives. Does anyone know if my bad reference from employer will cancel or reject my ofsted registration? I have been eagerly waiting for this day and everything will just come to an end so soon. And is she allowed to discuss the reference form with me before sending it to ofsted? Is it not confidential?

Please I am confused, terribly sad and scarred of being rejected and not be able to fulfill my dream. Please tell me if I am right or wrong? What do you think?

chris goodyear
04-07-2019, 05:48 PM
I might be wrong but I thought bad references were not allowed to be given. I'm only guessing but if ofsted get in touch with your previous employer they will have to give examples of why you were not good at your job and ofsted will see through if it's just sour grapes because you left. Just wait and see what happens and if you don't get registered then fight the decision if you believe your former boss isn't telling the truth.

FloraDora
04-07-2019, 07:02 PM
If your ‘bad’ reference has anything to do with safeguarding then they will definitely take it into account.

If, on your application you have been honest about reason for leaving etc...and anything she raises has been addressed then they will I am sure take your information into account.