PDA

View Full Version : Advice please

Sarah70
10-01-2017, 05:05 PM
Hi, this is my first time posting on here and I'm hoping for some advice please. I'm looking after a 18 month old, Monday to Friday 8-6.30 last week and this week he's just staying 8-4 as mum wants to settle him in slowly. I also take his sister to and from school, she's 9. If I'm out and about in the buggy the little boy is fine, no problems at all. As soon as he sees the front door and we come home to my house he screams non stop, there's no tears just noise but he doesn't stop so clearly upset. I also have a 3 year and 4 year old in my care who are friendly outgoing children. For the last 7 days I've had him he's like it during the day for the whole day, I've tried everything with toys/resources at home. I've had to leave library, toddler groups etc with the other two children as he's just screaming the whole time, and whatever I try and do nothing works for example at my house or toddlers or the library he's either in my arms or on the floor just screaming, he's not interested in any toys, books nothing. When I do the afternoon school run he's fine in the buggy as soon as we get home that's it he gets out and screams and then his mum arrives at 4 and hears him crying and then shes distressed. I've done this job for a while and it's takes some children more time to settle in then others that's normal but right now I feel like I'm failing as a childminder. I'm thinking ahead to next week when I have him until 6.30 along with the school children and I'm imagining him just screaming and I can't see to the other children with dinner etc, also his sister has said a couple of times why's he crying so much he's not like that at home. Sorry for the long winded message, if any of you have any advice at all I would appreciate any help. Sorry I forgot to say he's had 3 settling in session over the last month. Thank you Sarah

sarah707
10-01-2017, 07:10 PM