PDA

View Full Version : 15 months old crying all day

Kitti
17-12-2016, 02:35 PM
Hello Everyone,

I am new to childminding but I used to work as a nursery nurse. My second child is a 15 months old cute little boy, the settling in went fine. This was our second week together, and unfortunately he is crying all day. Believe or not, the only thing what calms him down is my husband. If he is giving him cuddles, everything is fine, anyway he is behaving like he is afraid of me. He is not looking into my eyes, his heart is beating heavily. And nothing, and I really mean NOTHING puts off him. He is not interested in toys, other children. Only my husband can feed him. His mother told me, normally he is a happy child but he is after vaccinations and he is teething. Her friend was looking after him once a week and they did not have any problems. I do not know how much time should I give them. I am very patient but crying all 9 hours to my ears without any reason is not acceptable. And not to mention all the other children in the setting. They can't play, they can't sleep. Every day is just worst. I would like to talk to other professionals but everything is closed in this time of the year. I would really appreciate every advice! Thank you in advance!

watford wizz
18-12-2016, 02:09 PM
Hi and welcome, sounds like hubby doing a brilliant job is he your assistant?
You say settling in was fine, how long did you do? I do a month settling in which I know isn't always possible but I start with very short 2hr then 2hrs plus lunch, slowly working up to full days. I also do a home visit which can be very revealing and give you an insight into how they are treated ie dummy 24/7, or carried all the time. I have also extended settling in depending on child and parents/carers they are all different.
Teeth and immunisation won't be helping and he may well feel under par.