PDA

View Full Version : New mindee and Asthma help please?

emmas
11-07-2016, 11:22 AM
Hello, I have a new mindee due to start soon, and parents have informed me that they mindee is under investigation for Asthma, mindee is just 2.

Mindee currently is given the inhaler morning and night, and during the day if ever required. What do I need to do paperwork wise, I have no experience of Asthma atall, do I need any training! I find it a little worrying?

Many thanks

mumofone
11-07-2016, 11:32 AM
Hello, I have a new mindee due to start soon, and parents have informed me that they mindee is under investigation for Asthma, mindee is just 2. Mindee currently is given the inhaler morning and night, and during the day if ever required. What do I need to do paperwork wise, I have no experience of Asthma atall, do I need any training! I find it a little worrying? Many thanks

I thought they couldn't diagnose asthma until children are much older?

Lal
11-07-2016, 11:44 AM
My local authority (Hampshire) has a document called 'Healthcare Needs and Critical Incident Guidance for Early Years Setting' which has flow charts and forms to use. I expect your local authority has something similar. Aside to paperwork I would want to have some training- possibly from the child's gp/ practice nurse.

Link to the page- its one of the links in the list.

Safeguarding (http://www3.hants.gov.uk/childrens-services/childcare/providers/safeguarding-earlyyears.htm)

moggy
11-07-2016, 12:14 PM
https://www.asthma.org.uk/advice/child/manage/action-plan/

See info here, should be a care-plan in place, or request one. Use info from this link to guide the parents towards what you need.

Mouse
11-07-2016, 12:18 PM
I have no family experience of asthma, so it's not something I'm used to. What I do is I draw up a simple care plan for any mindees with asthma or suspected asthma.

Off the top of my head I ask things like:

what are the signs the child needs their inhaler

are there any known triggers