PDA

View Full Version : my own kids have chickenpox

bubblegum1986
05-06-2016, 06:45 AM
Hiya.

New to this forum :)

Just after a bit of advice. Sorry if it seems like a silly question.

I've not long started childminding. Been doing it for about 2 months, watching a 1 year old and have 2 preschoolers of my own. My 2 kids now have chickenpox and my mindee was in contact with them the day before the spots appeared which means she'll probably get them too.

question is. Should I have an exclusion policy stopping her from coming to my setting until both my kids are no longer infectious? Although by then she will probably have them. If so, do I then have the exclusion policy in place again ? Even though my kids have already had it and are the ones that passed it on in the first place? I'm so confused! Again, sorry if it's a really obvious answer. I'm a total newbie to all of this.

Thanks in advance x

sarah707
05-06-2016, 06:59 AM
Welcome to the forum!!

Sorry to hear your children are ill I hope they feel better soon.

It's important to follow Health Protection guidance - https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/522337/Guidance_on_infection_control_in_schools.pdf.

You close until your children are scabbed over - and you exclude any children with cp until they are scabbed.

Hth :D

tulip0803
05-06-2016, 03:10 PM