PDA

View Full Version : Do Ofsted look in your cupboards?

Maza
10-03-2016, 11:25 PM
I seem to remember at my last inspection, and my pre-reg that the inspector looked in every cupboard and drawer that didn't have a child lock on it...maybe it was just the kitchen ones I can't quite remember. What was your experience?

k1rstie
11-03-2016, 07:29 AM
Never had that happen to me. Did you state in your SEF that you has locks on everything, and she wanted to see if that was correct.

I have never had a cupboard or drawer lock in my life.

Dragonfly
11-03-2016, 07:37 AM
I haven't got locks on anything apart from a cupboard with alcohol in and under the sink cleaning stuff. And no ofsted do not go in your cupboards.

chris goodyear
11-03-2016, 07:59 AM
Years ago when Ofsted first came on the scene they were very nosy and looked everywhere even inspecting shampoo bottles etc in the bathroom!! Since then though I have had no experience of them being like that and the only cupboard I have a lock on is under the kitchen sink.

singingcactus
11-03-2016, 08:00 AM
I've never had one yet go into my cupboards, I've had 5 inspections so far. I've had one go into my children bedroom to have a look around, apparently to look for guns and to check the ceiling hadn't fallen down!! I am always paranoid about them going into my cupboards though, not cos they are dangerous but because I am a messy person and my cupboards highlight this.

Maza
11-03-2016, 08:50 AM
Wow, I must have go the nosey ones! They definitely asked me to open kitchen cupboards which didn't have locks on them. Just cannot remember if they asked me to open other cupboards though!

Simona
11-03-2016, 09:38 AM
Maza...do you mean when an inspector carries out a registration visit? ...or when they inspect us for grading?
the 2 are different

Ofsted guidance will clearly say what to expect from an inspector during a registration or inspection visit...make sure they follow both and adhere to the guidance.