PDA

View Full Version : Grounds for Ofsted variation?

butterfly
06-08-2008, 08:56 PM
I have a little boy on my books who's 15mths old who i mind for occassionally. his mum has recently got a job in the new tescos opening near us and has to go in for training for 3 days a week for the next 3 weeks. i'm registered for 1 child under 5 as i have 2 of my own kids but the mum asked me tonight whether it would be possible for me to have her oldest who's 3 as well. it would probably be 9-3 3 days a week for 3 weeks.
do you think ofsted would grant a variation for this? what will i say when i phone up? how much info do i need to give on the phone? do you think there's any chance of getting this for next week?

i'm a qualified teacher so i have lots of experience with young children but i've not been registered long. i could also say that my husband will be on holiday from work for some of the days so would be around as well and i wouldn't have any other mindees during the days.

Angela234
06-08-2008, 09:01 PM
I'm not sure how it works to get one so quick i phone then have to put it all in writting mine have taken about 10 - 14 days. There must be a way of getting one sooner perhaps someone else can help you

Angela

miffy
06-08-2008, 09:04 PM
I've never applied for a variation but I think you have to put everything in writing - ages of children, hours, days etc and then detail how you will be able to meet each child's needs.

Miffy xx

Minstrel
06-08-2008, 09:04 PM
I think you would have good grounds too as it would be continuinity of care for siblings.

Chatterbox Childcare
06-08-2008, 09:53 PM
Hi

Put it in writing and send it via email and follow it up with registered post ASAP.

I had mine within 48 hours but you must keep on at them, otherwise you will stay at the bottom of the pile.

D :laughing: ebbie

butterfly
06-08-2008, 10:17 PM