PDA

View Full Version : Holiday's taken during term time

BallyH
23-10-2015, 06:11 PM
I've never taken holiday during term time. Mainly because my own children where at school. However, my husband is celebrating a big birthday next year and wants to go to the states for one week. Propably the first week in July. Wanted some advice as not sure now to approach this as I think the parents will be surprised. I'll have my 3 sons with me. One at Uni, 2nd will have finished A2's and 3rd son will miss a week off school. That in itself will raise a few eyebrows as I've never done it before and I think they'll be surprised. So, how do I tell them? What do I do with funded children? Payments etc? I've asked a few cm friends if they can help me and they said yes. Parents aren't aware yet. Why am I so nervous about telling them? We've not booked anything yet. Maybe it's all booked up and I won't have the worry! Plus, big fear of flying!!!

Maza
23-10-2015, 07:06 PM
I'm not sure what you will do about funded children as I don't have any experience of that, but go for it! If the parents have enough notice they can find someone to cover. I always go away during term time (but my mindees have always been pre-schoolers so it hasn't really affected them). It's lovely because not only is it MUCH cheaper it is also much quieter. Enjoy. x

Mouse
23-10-2015, 07:56 PM
How exciting!

With funded children in our LA you can either claim for one week less, or you offer parents an extra week during the non-funded periods (school holidays). When we put in our claims we say how many weeks we are claiming for, which is usually the number of weeks they're funding. If you have a week off, you'd just claim for one week less than that.