PDA

View Full Version : Moving House

Louise_Oaktree
01-09-2015, 09:29 AM
I hope this is ok to post here, my house is currently on the market, mainly because we need something bigger to accommodate my Childminding business.

I just wondered if anyone had any experience of moving their business to a new area, not a million miles away but probably too far for my current parents to travel. My mortgage payments do rely on my monthly income and I'm worried it could take months to build up the business again although we do have some savings. I have been minding here now for about 8 years and have been lucky with vacancies filling up fast but I'm well aware this could change if I move area. Obviously I will research the area but I'd love to hear from anyone who has moved their business and what it has been like for them.

I have 2 children of School age so that will be a big factor in where we move to, but I'm leaning towards the village type property within walking distance to a village School.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

loocyloo
01-09-2015, 02:31 PM
I moved 260 miles!

I knew no one where we moved to!

I liked the idea of a small village with a small school, but i didn't want to limit my choices for childcare. We live in a small town (about 3000 people) with about 220 children at school from nursery to yr 6. It means that i can walk the school runs if too many for car! Plus have a few little shops for odds and ends! I didn't want to be stuck in the middle of no where, not being able to go anywhere if lots of children.

Once i knew we were definitely moving and the area, i spoke to the fis and was given contact details of childminder support worker. I spoke to her a few times. I also spoke to the headteacher of the school my children were to go to, who said there was a need for childminders. I also emailed a few childminders i located through fis/childcare.co.uk.