PDA

View Full Version : I hate waste!!

Amanda70
25-08-2015, 10:19 AM
I'm new to childminding and look after a nearly 16 month old, she throws her food on the floor, especially her lunch If it is bread or wraps, she loves crackers and this is the only thing she doesn't throw on the floor but I can't keep giving her the same thing because she will eventually get fed up of it. I suppose she is throwing away all food and fruit that she doesn't like but surely I need to give her a variety even if she doesn't like it because next week she may like that food. I just hate waste. She enjoys her teas and that doesn't get thrown, any advice welcome but I presume I just have to put up with it :(

TinyTinker
26-08-2015, 01:06 PM
my own daughter is 16 months - some meals she will sit and eat others she will be eating one handful and throw another handful! I have found recently that when I give her meals with utensils she actually throws less - she actually ate a bowl of soup at lunch time today!

I end up with about 50% of what I give her on the floor - I don't give her more to compensate though -she gets what she gets and eats what she wants from it.

I'm hoping it's a phase and she will grow out of it - my other 2 children didn't do it and I have only ever had one mindee that did it and she was 2!

Maza
26-08-2015, 01:59 PM
Maybe she doesn't throw her teas because she is so hungry because she didn't eat much at lunch time.

My daughter was terrible at throwing her food out of her high chair. I didn't mind too much because I thought she was learning about cause and effect etc. She seemed to enjoy watching it fall and seeing how it landed - some bounced, some splatted etc. I dutifully didn't mind all the cleaning up afterwards. If I had had another child though I don't think I would be so accommodating, lol!