PDA

View Full Version : Holiday pay!

Kitty B
25-06-2015, 07:04 PM
Hi. I've been childminding for many years but always been unsure about holiday pay. At present I take 2 weeks of per year and parents are charged half pay for those two weeks. If their holidays don't coincide then should I charge full pay for the week or two that they are off. I would really appreciate people's views on this matter.

moggy
25-06-2015, 08:15 PM
You only take 2 weeks holiday a year??! Wow, that is not much. It is so little that charging half fees for you holiday is more than fair.

I charge half fees for my up-to-5 weeks a year. I charge full fees for whatever holiday/days-off the families want to take. I do not want to get into discussions about how many weeks off they have had or having to have notice of family's holidays and having to adapt my invoices and families changing their minds... if I am open then they pay full fees. Never had a problem or a complaint about it and makes my life easy. I like easy.

JoRo163
25-06-2015, 08:21 PM
I take 5 weeks a year. I don't charge for my holiday, but if parents take time off while I'm available to work, they pay full fee.

lollipop kid
25-06-2015, 08:35 PM
I take 5 weeks paid holiday at full fee, (plus the Public holidays if they fall on a parent's day). I give parents a list of dates for the year at the beginning of January (or end December the previous year). My holiday dates always coincide with the dates that the schools and nurseries local to me are on holiday.

I circulate the dates in advance, and the first dates I take off each year are some either side of Easter. This is in a bid to enable parents to co-ordinate their leave with mine. This method works well at my setting. Any holiday the parents take outwith my list of dates (when I am available for work) is charged at full fee.

I hope it helps.