PDA

View Full Version : Retainer or Deposit??

LalaO
23-02-2015, 11:54 PM
Helloo!

I have a family coming for a second visit to chat things through. They aren't due to start until April (not confirmed) .. I didn't mention it when we first met but should I charge a retainer or deposit or neither? And if so, is it ok to mention it now seeing as it wasn't discussed before?

I'm new to childminding so not sure what to do with regard to these things!

Many thanks x

mama2three
24-02-2015, 06:50 AM
For an april start I would ask for a deposit to secure the place. This is non refundable if they don't start..
I hold the deposit until the final payment , but many us it against the first months fees.

LalaO
24-02-2015, 07:39 AM
Thanks. How much deposit do you ask for?

mama2three
24-02-2015, 07:56 AM
I ask for a months fees as a deposit

Kiddleywinks
24-02-2015, 08:02 AM
Yes it's a good idea to mention 'terms', contracts and any finer details on a second visit.
First visit's are normally to see if you all 'click' so no point bombarding with fees and hours and everything else at that point - wouldn't see anyone again for dust :laughing:

A retainer is usually due when parents don't want an immediate start, but do want the space. It's a way of ensuring you're being paid - albeit at a reduced rate - rather than offering the space to someone else that could be paying in full.
A retainer is non refundable - unless you choose before the official start date to not actually start, in which you would refund all monies given to you.
A retainer is useful if you're in demand and have lots of potential clients wanting a space with you as soon as it becomes available - the really serious ones will pay to have you, the less serious/picky ones wont ;)

A deposit is refundable, either at the start of or the end of a contract, or again, if you choose not to go ahead with starting prior to the agreed start date.

The way I work is: