PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed regarding toilet accidents

Vikki5531
25-01-2015, 01:34 PM
Hi All,

I posted on here a couple of months ago regarding a 2 year old girl (3 in March) that I have been minding for 4 months, wetting herself throughout the day. Mum said she was fully toilet trained and we thought she may be having accidents due to the change of her routine and going to a childminders.
I got lots of great advice to not let Mum put her back in pull-ups as it would be a step backwards and to use reward charts.
Well the reward chart worked for a few days - each time she went to the toilet she would say, "do I get a smiley star on my chart now" - but then the novelty wore off and she went back to wetting herself.
I literally have to take her to the toilet every half an hour and hope I'm not too late - but I want her to be able to tell me she needs a wee. When she starts nursery in Sep, the teachers won't have time to be taking her every 30 mins, and if you ask her, she will say "no thank you".
She is a very intelligent little girl and sometimes her Mum will promise her princess shoes or other treats if she stays dry, and she will hold it in until I take her, and then say, "am I going to get my princess shoes now?"
This little girl loves dressing up at my setting and at home, so I've suggested to Mum that while she is wetting herself, not to let her put the costumes on as she is having accidents in them - and when she starts asking to go to the toilet, she can then wear them - Mum seems happy with this - I do feel mean, she is the cutest little girl, and when she's wet, she says "it was only an accident".
Has anyone got any other suggestions I can try? X

LilMisConfused
25-01-2015, 04:37 PM