PDA

View Full Version : out of hours care

gemma659353
12-01-2015, 11:01 AM
Hi

I have someone who is looking for care on a Saturday 4.30am-3pm which could extend to six days a week. I'm just starting out, not 100% sure I want to do it but if I was what would you guys charge? Normal hours I charge £4.25 per hour

bunyip
12-01-2015, 11:32 AM
There are 2 considerations:

Do you genuinely want to work a Saturday (especially if you're already decided on doing Monday-Friday) and are prepared to treat it as work, and not a mere inconvenience?
If so, are you able to fill up your Saturday spaces, or will you be stuck working for 1 child at 33% of your earning potential?

Personally, I think "out of hours" care is a misnomer or an oxymoron. If it's outside the hours you're prepared to work then you.......erm.........won't be working it.

OTOH, it's your business and you can charge whatever the client is prepared to pay. Some people have a moral issue over this, others don't. I'm not going to preach.

watford wizz
12-01-2015, 11:49 AM
I work week ends but have a day off in the week. I charge my normal rate, I also offer overnight care. Have not had problem filling space as not many will cover week ends but I'm near big hosp and staff who work shifts works well for me but it does have to be regular work I don't do 1 offs for families I don't already do other hours for. Not everyone lives near family. It's up to you but could be your unique selling point x

AliceK
12-01-2015, 12:41 PM
I'm afraid I wouldn't even consider a 4.30am start whatever the rate. My family would kill me lol. Seriously though there is no way I am getting out of bed at that time any day never mind a weekend I need my sleep too much.

xxx

k1rstie
12-01-2015, 02:20 PM
If so, are you able to fill up your Saturday spaces, or will you be stuck working for 1 child at 33% of your earning potential?

That's a really interesting way to think of it! I had not thought about it that way before.

gemma659353