PDA

View Full Version : SEPARATE FLAT, STAFF, REGISTRATION ETC. HELP PLEASE!

paulaxo
15-11-2014, 08:57 PM
Hello friends,

my name is Paula and I'm new to the forum.

I've been working as a daily nanny for a few years now, but I've started looking into childminding instead, especially after bumping into my old friend, who told me more about it - unfortunately, not as much as I'd like to know!

First of all, I live in a small one-bed and can't move out, and I thought of renting a big (very big) studio flat just for childminding purposes. Of course I'd agree with the landlord beforehand and warn him of my intentions. Will OSTED accept that? The whole studio would be customized to suit the children's needs, the play-room, the toilet etc. I guess they should accept that, am I wrong?

Secondly, I'm going to register as a childminder, but was thinking of registering my mum too, so I can have some time off on Fridays (I'm studying) and I'm aware that a childminding assistant can only be alone with the children for a maximum of 2 hours per day, so that's not an option. Can two, or more childminders be registered to care for children in one place, in my case - the studio?

Lastly, because I'd need to rent out separate premises, can anyone please advise me on the realistic time of the registration process? Renting would cost me a lot of money, so I'd like to know how long I'd have to rent out for, so that OFSTED has enough time to come round, have a look and give a decision. I'd like to open the childminding service in September 2015.

I'm hoping that someone can help me out with this. I've been trying to call OFSTED, but that seems impossible. You, childminding friends, are my only hope!

Many thanks in advance,
Paula

tulip0803
15-11-2014, 09:54 PM
Hello friends,

my name is Paula and I'm new to the forum.