PDA

View Full Version : Taking holiday?

Georgiepoo
14-11-2014, 11:11 PM
Hi,

I'm in my first year of childminding and looking to book a days holiday that will only effect one of my mindees. Im wondering how to go about-should I put it in writing or just let mum know???

Kiddleywinks
15-11-2014, 07:45 AM
I let parents know verbally, and then follow it up by adding it to the list of holiday dates on the bottom of my invoices :thumbsup:

bunyip
15-11-2014, 10:22 AM
I let parents know verbally, and then follow it up by adding it to the list of holiday dates on the bottom of my invoices :thumbsup:

Do this.

If you only say it, they will instantly forget all about it, then claim it is your fault you didn't tell them. :(

No matter how far ahead I tell parents, I also remind them about 4 weeks ahead of the actual holiday dates. At this point, they will invariably look puzzled and protest that I didn't tell them. I then tell them to check the invoices/newsletters/child's diary and everywhere else the information has been displayed for doG knows how long. :doh:

Kiddleywinks
15-11-2014, 11:42 AM
Do this.

If you only say it, they will instantly forget all about it, then claim it is your fault you didn't tell them. :(

No matter how far ahead I tell parents, I also remind them about 4 weeks ahead of the actual holiday dates. At this point, they will invariably look puzzled and protest that I didn't tell them. I then tell them to check the invoices/newsletters/child's diary and everywhere else the information has been displayed for doG knows how long. :doh:

Funny isn't it how they never forget their holiday period and always forget ours lol

I do give my holiday dates out in January and it's pretty much the same time each year, Easter, Summer and Christmas, with an additional 5 days maybe throughout the year (training days mostly)