PDA

View Full Version : I need to find work, and fast. What am I doing wrong?

asatess
07-11-2014, 12:31 PM
I've been minding for 10 years. Only a couple of years ago my spaces were all filled, I did lots of community minding through social services, I had 11 after school children scattered over the week. Due to social services budget cuts, massive after school club expansion at my local school, 2 of my parents being made redundant from the same firm in 4 months, I'm left with one under 5 three days, one under 5 two days and one after school child who goes at 4 and earns me a fiver.
I'm registered on childcare.co.uk, our local council website, have a website and FB page, spent £50 on flyers and cards which I've put everywhere, paid £20 to be on Family Info Link. I'm a network childminder, a support childminder, offer 2 year old offer and nursery grant.
I know childminding is feast or famine, but this is serious famine. What else could I be doing? When it was new children's taster day at school in July, I parked my car at the entrance with posters in the windows and flyers under the wipers. Not one phone call.
Any suggestions, ideas welcome

VeggieSausage
07-11-2014, 01:21 PM
netmums, join local Facebook mums pages there are often people asking about childcare on there, notice in your front window and on your car, tell everyone you have a space, update your childcare.co.uk profile every day/ few days to keep your profile at the top. If you are not getting work but having people coming to see you then ask another minder to come over and see if they think you can make improvements, network with other minders and refer them in return for them referring you.......are there other local minders near you?

asatess
07-11-2014, 01:44 PM
I have a poster in my car and I live on a main rd so it does get seen. The local mums FB page is a good idea. I know several nearby childminders who know I'm looking for work.