PDA

View Full Version : Starting up as a registered childminder..

Charlottex
06-11-2014, 02:23 PM
Hi everyone:)

i'm currently in my last year at Sixthform studying child care level 3 and health and social care level 3.
i have a little boy who is now 9 months old and i'm moving out start of next year and hoping to start making my house ready to be able to be a registered childminder.

what are the first things you need to do to become a childminder? i've searched around on google, but i don't know where to start at all, so advice would be much appreciated

Thank You x

Rick
06-11-2014, 02:27 PM
Hi everyone:)

i'm currently in my last year at Sixthform studying child care level 3 and health and social care level 3.
i have a little boy who is now 9 months old and i'm moving out start of next year and hoping to start making my house ready to be able to be a registered childminder.

what are the first things you need to do to become a childminder? i've searched around on google, but i don't know where to start at all, so advice would be much appreciated

Thank You x

Hi Charlotte

Your first port of call is your LA. They should have briefing sessions which lead onto the Introduction to Childminding course or online equivalent.

Some info here.

http://www.childmindinghelp.co.uk/forum/starting-childminding-pre-registration-visits/117176-registering-childminder-updated-06-2014-a.html

bunyip
11-11-2014, 11:42 AM
Also worth checking out and thinking through the practicalities.

You don't say if you'll be renting or owning your own home. If you're renting, you will need the landlord's permission to do childminding, as it counts as running a business from the premises. A lot of landlords will refuse, or will insist on additional charges, terms and conditions even if they do allow it. Even if you own your own place, you may need to find another home insurance policy, etc.