PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to childminding and really need some advice please!!

Lucymac
29-07-2008, 01:13 PM
I've got myself into a really tricky situation, I've just started minding my best friends little boy from yesterday while she is on a training course for 2 days each week lasting for 7 weeks with the possibility of her gaining empoyment after. I'm worried though because he's already making my children's life a misery by bossing them around and hitting my son. I got a brand new jigsaw out today for the children to play with and he deliberately jumped up and down on the box and smashed it! I'm already having regrets about agreeing to watch him, but what can I do? He's my best mates Son and I risk falling out with her if I say anything. Please Help!!:(

aly
29-07-2008, 01:17 PM
I'm wonderign about this too. I have not had him yet as I'm not registered but she wants me to once I am registered.

He is 9 and my son will be 7 in oct. They play nice but then her son will pick
on my son. Im not sure what to do either and im hoping I get spaces filled quickly lol

Good luck in finding a solution.

x

Minstrel
29-07-2008, 01:18 PM
At the risk of sounding obvious - some kids do this!!
I think you need to sit him down and give him the house rules. explain them in an appropriote way for his age. then relax and praise when he is good and pull him up when he's not following them.
Hes fairly new to it all so i'd give him a chance to get settled and watch your children be good and the rewards they get for doing the right things. he will soon want treats to and learn to follow the rules too.
He also needs to get used to your routine extra so he is probably asserting himself in the new enviroment.
hth
x

Julia
29-07-2008, 01:24 PM