PDA

View Full Version : How long did you give parents to get back to you re wanting a space

KateA
22-08-2014, 01:59 PM
Hi, I am fairly new to minding following one really bad expensive with my first mindee at start of the year I now feel ready to start.

Do you ask parents to let you know by a curtain date or just leave it up to them?

I am finding it really hard to get business at the moment :( I email local parents from Childcare.co.uk and never hear back from them, yet I can see they have logged in etc

I did get one family who wanted care but for me to work for two months before they could afford to pay me! My policy is money up front or no care
so turned them down and they were really surprised.

x

Kiddleywinks
22-08-2014, 02:38 PM
Stick to your rules, no fees = no care

They probably weren't that surprised, I doubt anyone would have the confidence in a complete stranger to work for 2 months for no money :laughing:

I tell parents after the initial visit that I work on a first come first served basis, so would appreciate a quick call or text just so I know one way or the other. If I've not heard back within a week, I take it it's a no and move on.
Some minders advise that they have other people coming/interested so need to know by xx date, which might work for you if you hate waiting lol

Try not to be too disheartened, I had nothing for 6 months - loads of visits and enquiries, but no actual work, it was very frustrating, and was beginning to think I needed to change my deodorant ;)

loocyloo
22-08-2014, 04:11 PM
I've just had a mum who wanted a space, returned a form to accept space very quickly but i was going away and so were they .. All back as of yesterday and we were signing contracts tonight .. I text to confirm tonight and she has replied to say doesn't want space now!
Hey Ho ... I had a little bit of an iffy feeling so happier but grrr at the same time.

toddlers896
25-08-2014, 08:27 AM