PDA

View Full Version : How to stop providing meals

KateA
17-08-2014, 04:06 PM
Hello,

I am posting for behalf of a friend who currently provides meals at lunch time and dinner time but is finding it increasing time consuming , she is out of pocket as comes out normal fees and is finding parents are turning up late to collect as they know she is feeding them or will arrive and then stand around while she feeds their child.

My question is have any of you stopped offer this service and how did you do?

Thanks

pinkzed
17-08-2014, 06:01 PM
Hi,

I am new to childminding but in my fees I include breakfast, snacks and lunch. If they want an evening meal it's an extra £1.50. Sending out a letter telling parents what you are planning with a start date. I don't think you necessarily need to give a reason but parents will see this as a price increase. More experienced cms may have better advice!

Zoe.

muffins
17-08-2014, 07:52 PM
You could say that you have been reviewing your fees and instead of a fee increase you have decided not to include meals in your fee.

I provide breakfast for a £1 as that's easy to prepare, ask parents to provide a packed lunch as it's then ready for easy serving after coming in from a morning out and do a hot meal at 5pm for £2 as I cook for my whole family then anyway so not too much bother.

I ask parents not to arrive between 5-5.30pm as ut disrupts those eating and I like to be able to eat in peace as well. If for any reason they need to on the odd occasion I will have the child ready and take them to the door so the parent doesn't need to come in, I'll also make my excuses and return to the table asap:thumbsup:

hectors house
18-08-2014, 06:53 AM