PDA

View Full Version : Daily diaries

JKL
07-08-2014, 08:08 PM
Hi All,

I'm thinking of having daily diaries designed and made for my mindees with my logo etc on but as I'm just starting out I can't really decide what information I should include in a daily diary?

So far I'm thinking:

What we've done.
What they've eaten.

But I'm stuck as to what else to include?!?

Any suggestions welcomed!

TIA xx

moggy
07-08-2014, 08:25 PM
I just use a spiral bound A5 notebook- you can buy them in bulk packs of 10 online.
I used to print a nice cover with my logo and child's photo and name and stick it on the front with sticky backed plastic... but that is one of those things you do when you fist start out and then realise it was a bit OTT!
I just put a sticker with child's name on the front now.

I write date and then just note things as I go along so would read:

7th Aug 2014
Johnny was in a good mood this morning, we played with xxx and went out in the garden to look in the pond. Dirty nappy. Snack- oat cakes and apple slices. Out to the playground, Johnny loved the swings. Back for lunch- sandwiches, cucumber and a yoghurt. Nap 1pm-3pm, settled easily...

etc, etc.

That way i do not have to fit into a pre-determined template and can write in chronological order so parent can see what we did in the right order.
Parents write 1-2 paragraphs every day back to me. We start writing right after the previous entry so no wasted space- also a problem with preprinted diary template as can be a lot of wasted space or not enough space when there is a particular issue to write more about.

Personally, would not spend more than the few pence a spiral bound A5 notebook costs, parents are very happy and it does the job.

Mrs Scrubbit
07-08-2014, 09:11 PM