PDA

View Full Version : Free Flow play for Before & After School Children in my care

roecliffe
24-07-2014, 08:39 PM
Hello there, I am new to this forum and site, I'm wondering if any of you may be able to help me with some advice, i've been working as a childminder for over 2 years now have a reputable service for providing wrap around care from my son's school, my numbers coming up this September are full. My issue is as my numbers have increased so will my responsibilities for care of larger numbers of children; on a thursday evening i'll have 7 children (some over 8) (2 are my own). Previously i've been quite relaxed but safe with how i let the children use my facilities, but since my numbers are increased its harder to keep all the children in one space, some like to be out in the garden and some like to be indoors I allow the children to move between the playroom, two lounges and kitchen and garden, i just tend to wander around making sure all children are safe and when they have a snack/meal all together so i can monitor them eating (safety of choking etc.) but what i want to know is how does this affect me insurance wise and does it leave me liable, should anything happen/incident occur? I admit I don't have my eye on all the children at once, is this good practice? The school children range between ages of 4 and 9 and i'm extra cautious and tend to monitor more the youngest, how really should this be done now my numbers are increasing. Do i try and keep all the children in at once and all the children out at once? Is this something i need to address with parents about how they feel about free flow play and safety, as clearly I can't be in two places at once (plus i have to put a meal on in=between and take my toddler to the toilet etc.. .. I'm just worried something might happen and i wouldn't be in immediate vicinity.

With thanks in advance for any comments / advice.

Chatterbox Childcare
25-07-2014, 07:36 AM