PDA

View Full Version : advice please.....

derwen25
26-06-2014, 05:48 PM
I was due to have a child start in September. (they booked it in March) The family have been intouch to say they won't be needing the space now as the wife has left her uni course and is pregnant. They paid a deposit. Which I stated was to be returned on comencement (if thats the right word??!) of the contract. What do I do? Im still new to all this and just wondef what rights they have to their deposit back as Ive turned people away due to keeping their childs place. Thank you in advance for any advice.

mama2three
26-06-2014, 05:50 PM
It all depends on the wording in your contract - but most likely you will get to keep the deposit .

derwen25
26-06-2014, 05:57 PM
It all depends on the wording in your contract - but most likely you will get to keep the deposit .

It says when the place is taken up the deposit is returned to parent. (I know it seems pretty obvious from that )- but just wanted to check. I was so gutted when they told me. It was going to be a huge boost to my income and Ive turned so many away since. :-(

AliceK
26-06-2014, 06:11 PM
When I take a deposit it is clearly written that it is non-refundable if parent for whatever reason doesn't take up the space. I have only had it happen once when a schoolie got in to their first choice of school after being on the waiting list so never started with me. I kept the deposit, it was never questioned.

xx

derwen25
26-06-2014, 06:22 PM
When I take a deposit it is clearly written that it is non-refundable if parent for whatever reason doesn't take up the space. I have only had it happen once when a schoolie got in to their first choice of school after being on the waiting list so never started with me. I kept the deposit, it was never questioned.

xx