PDA

View Full Version : Tax stuff - help!

Bushpig
27-07-2008, 05:40 PM
This is my first year childminding - I have some questions.

(1) Have you all started doing your tax?
(2) Do you go through each and every receipt and add it up?
(3) For those who use an accountant (I will I think), do you just hand him the huge pile of receipts? I have a mountain of them and it'll be so much easier.
(4) If I do not have a receipt for something can i still put a claim in for it if it's over £10? eg. My phone fax system I bought a few months ago, purely for the business. It cost £69.99. Do I put it through as that or a lesser amount? I also bought a small digital camera for observations... (no way I was lugging my Canon 400D EOS around to the park!lol), but cannot find the slip :( Do I put that through? Do I write a receipt to myself or just write it in a list of expenses I have lost receipts for?

Thanks!

mrsb
28-07-2008, 05:36 PM

(1) Have you all started doing your tax? I try and do my accounts once a week
(2) Do you go through each and every receipt and add it up? I highlight whatever is bought for childminding on the receipts :)
(3) For those who use an accountant (I will I think), do you just hand him the huge pile of receipts? I have a mountain of them and it'll be so much easier. My sister does accounts but I do my own, she said she prefers them to be in date order but yes people do just hand her a bag full of receipts lol