PDA

View Full Version : Do I stay or do I go??

Miss freckles
12-06-2014, 12:49 PM
I'm in two minds wether or not to give up childminding, I know ultimately only I can make that decision however any advice to anyone who's felt like this or been in this position would be great.

I've been childminding a year and a half, was almost full straight away my do says I'm in a great position as not that many cm's in my area she says I'm doing great and should get a good if not outstanding on my inspection.

My background has always been childcare from nurseries, schools and pre schools, I'm a qualified nursery nurse with 15 yrs experience. I choose to leave my last job as there was a change of management and huge changes not for the better, and someone very close to me passed away and I got pulled in to question what made me have a week off work!! I'd had enough and decided to go down the childminding route.

While I love working with 18 mths and up as they get involved and we can do various activities and I love being creative, having fun, I've just recently took on a tiny baby as one of my two yr olds moved so even though he was so small I thought it would be fine well he's not settled at all and screams all the time the other children are getting left out and in all honesty spending ages feeding bottles, weaning, nappy changing is not something that I enjoy at all.

This week I've noticed a job come up for a local school as a TA in reception class that would be great for me, however I'm too scared to apply, what if the grass isn't greener. It would mean a drop in wages by £200 a mth but as you know cm is not a steady income so getting another job does mean a steady income, what if I did get the job and hated it. I hate the fact that I have put so much time, effort and money into starting up my own business to just throw it all away, or is it the baby that's making my job so hard.